Wonderfully Quirky Thoughts

It Was Great Except for the Goose Poop

A couple weekends ago we braved the rainy forecast and set out, truck loaded.  We had packed peanut butter and bread, bacon and potatoes, breakfast burritos and monster cookies.  We had packed sleeping bags and comfort objects, diapers and extra toys.  We had packed the tent.

We were ready.

I took us an hour to reach the lake.  As we drove on the winding roads looking for the right camping area, I noticed some geese in the nearly deserted campsites we were passing.

Oh how sweet, I thought.  Maybe the kids will get to see some geese up close.  

When we pulled up to our site, I noticed that the green grass was dotted with tiny black logs, the size of rolls of quarters.

Goose poop.  And lots of it.

The geese I’d thought were so sweet while driving in were indeed sweet.  Sweet enough to leave presents all over the campsite.  Lovely.

I gritted my teeth and tried to suppress the mother panic that was setting in.  Before we even set up the tent, I could see smudges of goose poop all over my kids’ feet, all over the inside of the tent, all over blankets and pillows.  I could only imagine what kind of sickness could come from accidentally ingesting trace amounts of it.

I must say, it kept me on edge that weekend.

But, in between my internal panic sessions about the goose poop which we had to avoid carefully pretty much everywhere we stepped, things were good.

Really good.

The kids helped us set up the tent, proudly hammering in the stakes with Daddy.

resident tent builder @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

We used our new Dutch oven to make bacon and Zuppa Toscana over the campfire… it was seriously awesome.

Dutch oven bacon & breakfast burritos! @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

We drank coffee and hot cocoa in the quiet morning, cuddled up with each other by the fire.

good morning, handsome! @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com
Thanks to our good friend, K, and her mom for coming and helping with our kids!
We ate breakfast burritos, the best make-ahead camping food EVER.

Camping: Mmm... breakfast burrito!! @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

We got to push the kids on the swings — a lot.  Even though my arms wore out, it was pure delight listening to our kids laugh and beg to pushed higher.

The boys took a nap in the tent while Little Miss and I worked on sight words together, and read some of Mary Poppins.  It was so good to spend some one-on-one time with her, a rarity with two rambunctious little boys around.

Camping trip! @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

We toasted marshmallows and ate s’mores (some with Reese’s instead of chocolate… peanut butter lovers, this is definitely worth a try).

Gimme some s'mores! @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

As we packed up to leave Sunday morning, I smiled at my husband and reflected on what a nice weekend it had been.

You know, minus the goose poop.

Wishing you a wonderful (and goose-poop-free) weekend!

~Katie

P.S. This coming week is a no-blog week for me… I’m off to relax in the sun chase children around outside all week.  😉  I’ve got so many good posts to share with you, but they’ll have to wait.  🙂  Enjoy your week!

2 thoughts on “It Was Great Except for the Goose Poop

Leave a Comment

