Food

The Goal is Scrumptious: Futile in Sickness

When you are sick, I’m afraid nothing is very scrumptious.  Particularly when your ailment plugs up your nose so you can no longer taste all the wonderful variations of smell.

This is my predicament this week.

A walloping dose of allergies and a sinus cold.

I’ve got two fresh pineapples sitting on my counter begging to be used.  I’ve got fresh oranges and lemons that I’m dying to zest for sweet breads or scones.  I’ve got blackberries in the fridge that I want so badly to cook down into a sauce of some sort.  It would be delicious on a Dutch baby pancake, or maybe drizzled over crepes filled with a sweetened cream cheese…

But I can’t make myself stand in my kitchen to do any of those wonderful things.  And even if I could, they wouldn’t taste as good without the use of my nose.

Ah well.  Another day perhaps.

For now I’m off to my couch with some beef broth.

~Katie

4 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Futile in Sickness

Leave a Comment

