Wonderfully Quirky Thoughts

Irises

Irises are my favorite flower.  When I was little, we lived next door to a woman who had a large and beautiful patch of purple irises.  Every spring I would linger in front of her house to smell them.  I would stand leaning toward the flowers, inhaling slowly until my mom called me inside.

It was only a few weeks before the blooms would die, but I savored every opportunity to breathe in their sweet perfume.

Irises smell like heaven to me.

Purple and Yellow Irises @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.comPhoto by my mother, used with permission.

On top of their sweet aroma, irises impart a rare beauty.  Their unique ruffled petals captivate me.  Some cascade down from the center, as though they are lounging in the spring air.  The others stand tall and elegant in a floral dance.

Purple and White Iris @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Deep purples, vivid whites, buttery yellows all gathered together in a spectacular display.

Each is unique in color and in vibrancy.  But they all possess an alluring charm.

Yellow Iris @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.comPhoto by my daughter, used with permission.

Another display of God’s creativity.

I hope you get to enjoy some irises this spring!

~Katie

3 thoughts on “Irises

Leave a Comment

