Beverages · Breakfast · Food

Strawberry Mandarin Smoothie

Sweet strawberries and tangy mandarins blended with creamy banana, this smoothie is a perfect burst of energy and flavor.

img_3884

I have been making a LOT of fruit smoothies lately.  They are fresh, sweet, fast, and healthy.  And my kids love them!  What more could a mom ask for?

One of my favorite ingredients in a fruit smoothie is orange juice.  It’s sweet and tart.  It brings more “oomph” to a smoothie than milk.

But I am often without orange juice.  This was one of those times.

I almost went for the milk.  Then my eyes drifted to the bag of mandarins sitting on our counter.

I like mandarins.  I really do.  My trouble is the peeling.  See, my husband can peel off the outside and eat a mandarin orange in two halves, all in under a minute.  But not me.  It takes me ten minutes to peel a mandarin to my picky standards.  By then my fingers are sticky and tired, and I don’t much feel like peeling another.  Sometimes it’s difficult for us to finish the whole bag.

So I decided to blend a few for their juice and make a smoothie.  Normally I add in some Greek yogurt, but today I just wanted the fruit.  The result was pleasantly frothy, and so fresh I felt like summer had arrived.

img_3883

Strawberry Mandarin Smoothie
(yields one large smoothie, or one medium smoothie and a toddler-sized smoothie) 

Ingredients:

  • 6-7 jumbo strawberries, tops removed
  • 3 mandarin oranges, peeled
  • 1 banana, frozen in 1 inch slices
  • large squirt of honey, or to taste

Directions:

Blend orange segments in a food processor and push through a sieve to extract all the juice.  Discard pulp.  Pour orange juice into a blender.  Add strawberries and blend.  Add banana slices and blend.  Taste, then add honey to desired sweetness.  Drink up all that good fruit!

Have a great week!

~Katie

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Mandarin Smoothie

Leave a Comment

