Breakfast · Food

The Goal is Scrumptious: Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

I dreamed of a fabulous cinnamon yeast loaf. Something we could toast and slather with butter.  And, of course, I’d be able to transform any leftovers into a French toast casserole even my husband would devour.

He’s all about the savory breakfast, heavy on the bacon and sausage, so this would be a serious accomplishment.

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread (first attempt) @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

So I baked a loaf.  And it was gorgeous.  And the whole process was thrilling.  Mixing and kneading and rolling and rising.  I felt giddy smelling the cinnamon and yeast mingling in the oven.

The trouble was, after it cooled, I wasn’t quite satisfied.

The dough recipe I used was a little light on butter and didn’t contain any eggs.  It was originally a raisin bread recipe from my bread machine cookbook.  I left out the raisins, thinking it should work splendidly as a dough to swirl them up in.  Alas, it was not so.

It wasn’t as moist or sweet as I had hoped.  It was slightly dense and dry, though still quite edible.  I think I rushed both rises a bit.  The bread might have been lighter with a longer rise.  It was getting late, and I was getting sleepy.

That being said, I’ll definitely use a richer dough recipe next time.  One designed for a sweet, swirled bread.  With eggs.  And extra butter.

I also will try leaving out the butter in the filling.  Most of the recipes I looked at recommended spreading a little softened butter on the dough before sprinkling on the filling.   I’m concerned that the butter may have kept the sliced bread from holding together.

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread --butter makes a gap @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

See the gaps?  The bread was still good, but somewhat difficult to toast, and to eat.  It kept falling apart.  This is highly desirable in a cinnamon roll, but significantly less so in a sliced bread.

Though the bread was not everything I had dreamed of, this was the first time I had ever used my loaf pan for a yeast loaf!

And it did make pretty good French toast casserole… I thought.  But my kids didn’t much like it, so I’ll need to rework that recipe, too. 🙂

So no scrumptious recipes to share this week, but I’m learning. 🙂  And what an experience it is!

Have you ever made a cinnamon swirl loaf? What were your results like? Do you have any tips or recipes I should try next time? I would love to hear from you!

Eat something scrumptious today! 🙂

~Katie

6 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

  1. I made a cinnamon babka according to Cook’s Illustrated’s recipe. The filling included egg white, which really helped glue everything together and avoided gaps. You can check my blog for the recipe if you can’t find it on Google! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

