Breakfast · Family · Food · Wonderfully Quirky Thoughts

The Goal is Scrumptious: Cream Cheese and Apple Crepes

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas!  We got to spend several days with my parents, and it was full of blessings.  One of the great things about being around my parents is playing games.

We love to play board games and card games.  Some of our favorites include (Liverpool) Rummy, Hearts, Ticket to Ride (America, Europe, or Germany), Acquire, and Settlers of Catan (multiple versions).  This time my parents introduced us to Star Trek Catan, a version of Settlers of Catan.

This is my new favorite game.

If you have never played Catan, I recommend you borrow it from a friend (like, immediately) and become well acquainted with one of my family’s most-played board games.  We have spent many late nights around the card table collecting resources, plotting our next building moves, and enjoying each other’s company.

The Star Trek version though?  Out of this world.  (Pun fully intended.)

There are enough twists from the original to keep the game interesting without it stretching on for three hours, like some of the other extensions.  The shorter time also makes it possible for a rematch, a necessity for our family.  🙂

Allow me to offer a friendly piece of advice: put the resource-stealing robber (or Klingon battle cruiser) on players who don’t share your bed.  It makes marriage more blissful.  🙂

The lesson in these paragraphs?  Go. Play. Catan.  Star Trek, if possible.  But play Catan.  With loved ones.  Soon.  And often.

Got it?  Good.  🙂  You’ll thank me later.

The Goal is Scrumptious: Cream Cheese and Apple Crepes @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Now onto crepes!

My mom got this adorable Mom and Me Cookbook for my daughter for Christmas.  I love that it has pictures of all the ingredients and steps (in addition to labeling everything).  It makes it super kid-friendly.


Little Miss (my daughter) looked through the different recipes yesterday and decided she wanted to make crepes.

We had no berries (as the recipe recommended for filling), so this morning I decided to whip up a cream cheese filling and an apple filling.

The kids helped me mix up the crepes.  They are just barely to a stage where I can get all three kids up by the counter without them rushing excitedly to dump every ingredient on the counter.  (Always a plus!)

They need constant reminders, but they are actually able to take turns pouring in ingredients and stirring!  *Ecstatic mommy dance*  Little Miss sometimes likes to crack the eggs, too.  It is such a delight to be able to cook with them now!

It is one of those things I envisioned when I was hugely pregnant the first time and daydreaming of parenthood.  I think my husband saw himself playing catch with the kids and teaching them to ride a bike.  But I saw us together in the kitchen, making memories and delicious food.

Cream Cheese Apple Crepes @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Cream Cheese and Apple Crepes

For the Crepes:

  • 1 recipe crepes from the Mommy and Me Cookbook, or crepe recipe of your choice

Note:  This is my first time making crepes.  (They are delicious, by the way!  And easier than I thought.)  The first couple crepes turned out tasty, but pretty torn up.  I had too much butter in the pan.  I should have started with just 1 TBSP or less (even in the large skillet I used).  After the first two, the rest of the crepes cooked up perfectly and were very easy to flip.

Crepes, first mangled attempt @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com
First crepe off the pan… mangled, but delicious.

For the Cream Cheese Filling:

  • 4-5 oz cream cheese (or neufchatel cheese), softened
  • 1 small pat butter (about 1/2 TBSP), softened
  • 1/2 cup up to 1 cup powdered sugar
  • a couple splashes lemon juice
  • a small pour half and half (2-3 TBSP), optional

Mix together cream cheese and butter.  Stir in powdered sugar.  Stir in lemon juice.  Taste and add more powdered sugar if needed.  You will have a thick filling, and can stop here if you like it.  Otherwise, add enough half and half for desired consistency.

For the Apple Filling:

  • 2 medium apples, peeled and chopped
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 2 TBSP sugar
  • water
  • sprinkling of cinnamon

Heat apples, butter, and sugar over medium in a small skillet or saucepan.  Cook apple mixture until soft, about 15 minutes, stirring often.  I like to cover it for a few minutes so they steam a little.  While cooking, add water (1-2 TBSP at a time) as needed to keep from burning.  When apples are soft, sprinkle in cinnamon to taste.

Note that these apples are also excellent on THIS DUTCH BABY PANCAKE, and any number of other breakfasts or desserts!

To assemble:

Spread 1-2 TBSP of your cream cheese filling over a crepe.  Dot apple filling over the top.  Roll up and serve!

Cream Cheese and Apple Filling on Crepes @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

May your day be scrumptious!

~Katie

12 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Cream Cheese and Apple Crepes

  1. Awww … I know what you mean, Katie … it is so wonderful to cook with our children! What lovely memories! 🙂 And I really want to check out the Star Trek game! 😉 Happy New Year, sweet friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apple is my go-to fruit filling for everything! Especially in the winter when berries are so expensive. 🙂 I really enjoyed the crepes with it! I love making “fancy-feeling” food at home. 🙂 It was a total bonus that the kids could help (and two of them LOVED the crepes!).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Katie!!! I’ve missed you! So glad you had a blessed Christmas with your family. I’ve never played Catan, I’ll have to look into it! Cute cookbook. I love crepes! Those look yummy! Have a happy new year my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sadie! Catan is fabulous!! It’s full of strategy, but partly luck–best of both worlds! I’ve had crepes before, but it has been a LONG time. They were so good, and fun to make, too. I’ll be doing this again! Happy new year to you, too!! I can’t wait to catch up on your blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

