Dinner · Food

The Goal is Scrumptious: Meat Pie

I am SO excited to share today’s recipe with you!  I know it’s a little late, but I do hope you’ll forgive me.  I’ve been busily making Christmas gifts that I hope to mail to special people very soon.  🙂

Confession time: I have always been a little disgusted by the idea of meat pie. It’s not quite like a pot pie.  Those are familiar to me, mostly vegetables and gravy with some chunks of meat well-dispersed throughout.  I understand pot pies.

But a meat pie?  Just mystery meat baked in a crust?

Mystery meat… that sums up my previous thoughts about meat pies.  Like some dreaded cafeteria dish that is a catch-all for otherwise unused animal parts.  Barf bag, anyone?

Anyway, the good news is, meat pie is something entirely different and delicious!  Or, at least it can be.  My opinion can only be trusted on this meat pie, since it’s the only one I’ve tasted.  But it is definitely delicious!

The Goal is Scrumptious: Meat Pie @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

My new fascination with The Great British Bake Off made me question my previous disgust with meat pies.  I pondered different flavoring possibilities and looked up several recipes to see what a good meat pie is supposed to be.  The recipe that caught my eye was a blend of beef and pork with some friendly vegetables.  It sounded not so scary after all, so I decided to try it.  This is the very first thing I get to cross off my baking bucket list (see it HERE)!!

Making the filling was a somewhat lengthy process, but I plan to double it and freeze half next time.  And YES there will be a next time!  When I hear a shocked intake of breath from my husband and a chuckle of “Wow.  That is incredible,” as he dips out another large portion, that’s a recipe I have to make again.  And this recipe gets bonus points because he and I (and our picky eaters!) all felt that way.  🙂

Slice of meat pie @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

I went with an Italian-inspired seasoning rather than the recipe I based my pie off of… I couldn’t really fathom the cinnamon and nutmeg working with a meat pie…

At first, I was worried that there was too much flavor in the filling, and it was a little on the salty side.  But the seasoned filling balanced perfectly with the mild flavor of the pie crust, and I cannot wait to make this again!

Meat Pie (adapted from this recipe at allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1 TBSP oil, butter, or bacon grease
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp or more minced garlic
  • 1 stalk celery, finely chopped
  • 2 carrots, finely grated
  • 1 potato, peeled and chopped small
  • 1/2 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 lb ground sausage
  • 1 tsp salt, or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2-3 good shakes dried oregano
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 tsp better-than-boullion chicken base (boullion cubes are more salty–if you substitute with the cubes, only use one)
  • 1/2 c. water
  • Double pie crust (unbaked)

Directions:

  1. Sauté the chopped onion in the oil until it begins to soften.
  2. Add the garlic, then celery, then grated carrot, waiting a couple minutes between each addition. Set aside.
  3. Boil chopped potatoes for 5-10 minutes, just to start the cooking process–they should not be fully cooked. Add the potatoes to the other veggies.
  4. Cook sausage and beef together, mixing them thoroughly as you go for an even flavor. Drain grease.
  5. Combine the veggies and meat. Add in salt, pepper, oregano, bay leaf, chicken base, and water.
  6. Cook over medium high heat to blend the flavors.
  7. When most of the water has evaporated, remove the bay leaf. Pour the mixture into a glass dish and stick in the refrigerator to cool.
  8. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  9. Place rolled pie crust in a pie pan, add cooled filling, and top with second pie crust.
  10. Brush pastry with water (or egg wash) and pinch to seal.
  11. Slit the top crust in a few places and bake 40-45 minutes, or until golden brown.
  12. If you can stand to wait, let the pie cool a few minutes before slicing, then serve hot.

*Note: To make and freeze the filling ahead of time, make the filling.  Then cool it in the refrigerator.  Once cool, put in a freezer-safe bag and store in the freezer.  To use, thaw in the refrigerator overnight and use in pie crust as directed.

Mmm... Meat Pie @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

May your day be scrumptious!

~Katie

9 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Meat Pie

  1. I have been so inspired by the variety of recipes on the Great British Bake Off as well! The meat pies were very intriguing to me, and this one sounds delicious! I like your incorporation of Italian herbs! Something I would love to try! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

