Desserts · Food

Creamy Dreamy Trifle Pudding

Creativity can be dangerous in the kitchen, especially for bakers.  All the ingredients have to be carefully proportioned for a satisfying and tasty result.

I’m happy to say this recipe often satisfies my creative soul without causing any havoc in the end result. (Although, I suppose I don’t actually bake this portion of the recipe… oh well.)

Several years ago, I wanted something creamy and delicious to pair with fresh strawberries and pound cake.  I wanted it to be more substantial than whipped cream and with a touch more flavor.  I added ingredients to a bowl that I hoped would be good together, tasting as I went, until I got the texture and flavor I wanted.  After mixing, I decided it would be fun to layer everything up in our trifle dish.

The pudding (and the trifle) turned out heavenly, and over the years I have simplified and made this pudding again and again for all kinds of trifles.  Today I’ll share with you the basic recipe, which can be enjoyed as is, or added to to fit your available ingredients and/or your creative spirit.  🙂

Creamy Dreamy Trifle Pudding @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Creamy Dreamy Trifle Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz cream cheese (or neufchatel cheese), softened
  • 1 small package instant vanilla pudding
  • 1 cup milk

Directions:

  1. Follow directions on pudding package, reducing the milk to 1 cup instead of 2.
  2. As pudding sets up in fridge, beat the cream cheese with a hand mixer (or stand mixer) for about 30 seconds.
  3. When pudding is soft set, add it to the cream cheese and beat with mixer until smooth.

That’s it!  This is a tasty trifle pudding by itself, and it makes the perfect amount for two layers in my trifle bowl.

However, there are all kinds of options for increasing the volume (should you want more pudding) or altering the flavor for your needs.  In the past I have added vanilla extract, sour cream, butter, sugar, whipped cream, etc.  I would love to try Greek yogurt in this, too.

Making a chocolate trifle?  Try using a chocolate pudding mix.  Or play with a different extract to alter the flavor (almond? peppermint? maple?).  Whatever you do, taste as you go!  Make sure you like what you are creating.  🙂

This pudding is extremely versatile, but also excellent as is.

Layer it up in a trifle, and enjoy! (Of course, you can also just eat it with a spoon… I won’t judge 😉.)

~Katie

5 thoughts on “Creamy Dreamy Trifle Pudding

Leave a Comment

