Dinner · Food

The Goal is Scrumptious: Broiled Tacos

It was one of those nights. You know, the night when you don’t have a meal plan, so you just throw some stuff together and hope it turns out okay.

I had cooked up some beans, corn, and rice. We were all thankful for the food, but it was by far NOT the best I had made. As we cleaned off the table, I asked my husband with a hopeful smile, “Will you take the leftovers to work?”

“Uhh…”

No.  No he did not want to take the leftovers to work.

“But how are we going to eat the leftovers?”

In this case, my husband gave me some good advice (which really should have been obvious to me).

“Can you cook up some taco meat?”

Brilliance.  Okay, maybe just common sense for us beef taco lovers, but still.

While I was cooking the meat, I had another idea. I decided to broil the tacos.

Tacos normally grace our kitchen in one of two ways: taco salad or soft tacos rolled up like burritos. These broiled tacos were a nice change.

The Goal is Scrumptious: Broiled Tacos @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

And there is something about broiled cheese… Mmm… Broiled cheese.

More flavor.  So. Much. Flavor.

Please take a pause for broiled cheese.

*****

Okay, moving on.  (But seriously, find some reason to broil cheese today.  Preferably on carbs.)

I shook a little salsa over this broiled taco, folded it in half, and ate up.  I couldn’t tell I was eating the same food as the night before!  It was tasty.

What about you?  How do you eat up those meals that fall short?  Do you have any leftovers that you’ve reworked for a new meal?  I’d love to hear from you!

May your leftovers be scrumptious!

~Katie

11 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Broiled Tacos

  1. National Broiled Cheese Day, anyone?! Let’s do it.
    Ok, so this post is so timely!! I really wanted shredded beef tacos the other night. Of course, I didn’t actually have the time to cook the meat properly, but was that going to stop me? It should have. The meat was fine. It wasn’t as tender and “fall apart” amazing as it could have been, but it was OK. We didn’t have to order pizza. But now I have a lot of leftover OK taco meat. I think this could be my answer! Lesson: Broiled cheese is the answer to life’s problems!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

