Desserts · Food

The Goal is Scrumptious: Mocha Almond Truffles (Ganache)

I have a confession to make.  I’m getting Christmas fever.

Normally, I don’t feel this way until after Thanksgiving, but it has taken me early this year.  All the do-it-yourself crafts and ornaments and baked goodies are calling out to me.  I have been making things for Christmas and searching for Pinterest ideas that fit my needs for the people I love.

I am even listening to Christmas music.  Yes, I know it’s too early, but the heart wants what the heart wants.  🙂

easy ganache @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

One of my favorite things about the Christmas season is all the holiday baking.  My aunt Anne bakes up a storm for Christmas.  She makes chocolate covered pretzels, sugar cookies, snowball cookies, Christmas wreaths (similar to rice crispy treats, but made with cornflakes, dyed green, and decorated with red hot candies–YUM), buck-eye truffles, fudge, and an assortment of other delectable candies.

I am blown away by the amount of time and effort she must put in to churn out so many delicious goodies.  It’s something we all look forward to each year, and we usually end up taking home a plate of the sweet table leftovers.

She is an inspiration to me, and the last few years, I have been expanding my repertoire of sweet treats.

ganache @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com
Over the past few years I’ve attempted (and mostly succeeded) at making biscotti, shortbread, multiple cookie recipes, peppernuts (a category all their own), and caramels.

I’ve done a lot of baking and want to do more candy making, particularly of the chocolate variety.  My hope this year is to make an assortment of truffles, so today I began experimenting.

The resulting flavor was decadent, full of rich mocha flavor with just a hint of almond.

attempting truffles @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Unfortunately, even after hours of refrigeration, the truffles didn’t quite hold their shape…

Truffles... oh wait, no, that's just ganache @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

I was able to get them covered in cocoa powder, but they were more like chocolate silly putty than truffles.  From what I understand, I just need more chocolate in this recipe to firm up the truffles. That’s my plan for next time.  🙂  But if you’re looking for a tasty ganache, here’s my recipe from today.

Mocha Almond Ganache

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (6 oz) semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 TBSP instant coffee granules
  • 1 tsp almond extract

Directions:

  1. Make sure all utensils and bowls are clean and dry.  Water drops could cause your chocolate to seize.
  2. Put chocolate chips into a bowl.
  3. Heat your heavy whipping cream.  This took 1 minute in my microwave.
  4. Add the instant coffee granules to the whipping cream and stir thoroughly until completely dissolved.
  5. Heat whipping cream again until boiling.  This took an additional 30 seconds in my microwave.
  6. Pour hot cream over the chocolate chips and let sit for 30 seconds or so.  Gently stir the melted chips into the cream until everything is incorporated and smooth.
  7. Add the almond extract and stir again until incorporated.
  8. Enjoy!  Ganache makes an excellent fruit dip or cake filling. You can also whip it up for a fluffier frosting. Or you can be like me… And just eat it by the spoonful. 😉

Mocha Almond Truffles (Ganache) @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Have a scrumptious week!

~Katie

7 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Mocha Almond Truffles (Ganache)

  1. I’m right there with you, girl! I am seriously feeling it!! I don’t really care that much about Halloween; I mean I love seeing my kids all dressed up, but for me, Halloween is a stepping stone to Christmas. I tend to wrap Christmas and Thanksgiving together. Oh, I love it so!!! I’ve got one or two, or five blogs in the works about the holidays! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

