Dinner · Food

Samosa by Lynz Real Cooking

This is my third post in my WordPress Cooking Challenge.  To learn more about the challenge, click HERE.

My tastes have changed dramatically since childhood.  For instance, I used to like Cheetos dipped in ketchup.  Whenever I ate cake, I would lick the icing off, and leave most of the cake.  Until middle school, I was sure I hated baked potatoes.  The only fruit I would willingly eat for years was applesauce.

You could say I was picky, but that would be an understatement.

I remember eating at an Indian restaurant with my parents when I was growing up.  The food was too spicy, and looked too scary.  Everything all mixed together… it got my gag reflex going.  My parents loved it, but I barely ate.  I nibbled on naan dipped in plum sauce.

Thankfully, I am not that girl anymore.

In addition to eating a variety of fruits (and a few more vegetables than I used to), I have discovered Indian food anew.  There is an Indian restaurant in my hometown, and it’s a special treat to order out when we visit my parents.

But if you really like Indian food, it is a good idea to learn how to make it at home.  Take out can get expensive.  🙂

Over the years my mom, my sister, and I have all tried several different Indian recipes at home.  When I saw this recipe for samosa at Lynz Real Cooking, I knew I had to try it.

The recipe was flexible and easy to follow.  Essentially, it’s a cooked mixture of potatoes, onions, carrots, peas, and garlic with curry powder.  Then you wrap it in tortillas and bake it.  You end up with beautiful little triangles of Indian flavored vegetable mash.

First of all, the recipe makes a LOT.  I had enough filling easily for two pans worth of triangles.  If you are cooking for a small family or just yourself, you may want to cut the recipe in half.  I used 6 (8 inch) tortillas to make 12 samosas, and I had about half the filling leftover.

Samosa triangles @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

The seasonings were very flexible.  The recipe recommends salt and curry powder to whatever amount you like.  I had some curry paste on hand, so I put about a tablespoon of that in with the onions and garlic, as well as 3 heavy dustings of curry powder.  I put in about a teaspoon of salt.  I also added a couple pinches ground coriander.  Taste it as you go to get the flavor you like.

This filling was so good, I was eating it with a spoon while I waited for the pan of samosas to bake.  🙂

Samosa filling (still cooking) @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

The filling took about half an hour to come together from the picture above to the one below.  I kept it covered except for stirring.  I thought the carrots might still be crunchy, but they cooked during this time.  I made the filling during nap time.  This made it a quick and easy task to fill and bake the tortillas for dinner.  Always a plus for a busy mama.  🙂

Samosa filling (finished) @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

The instructions for wetting the tortillas were easy to follow and worked well for sealing up the samosas.

Because the samosas are baked rather than fried, these are fairly healthy.  There is a little oil for cooking the onion and garlic, but mostly, it’s vegetables wrapped in tortillas.  Healthy and tasty.  And even my kids liked them!  🙂

I didn’t know how to make yogurt mint dip (which was recommended), so I served this with a tikka masala sauce.  I was actually really disappointed with the sauce because it overpowered the flavor of the samosas.  We preferred the samosas by themselves.

Samosa by Lynz Real Cooking @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

I confess, I ate the leftover filling mixed with nacho cheese sauce.  It was SO good.  Strange and tasty Indian/Tex-Mex comfort food.  It may sound odd, but it was yummy.  The filling is just slightly on the dry side, so sauce of some kind really perfects it, and the cheese actually paired well with the curry flavor.

We’ll be adding these baked samosas to the menu when we get the family all together for Indian food!

For the original recipe at Lynz Real Cooking click here: Samosa My Way.

Enjoy!

~Katie

To see previous posts in this challenge, check out THIS PAGE.

3 thoughts on “Samosa by Lynz Real Cooking

  1. Ok, where to start? Cheetos in ketchup, that’s hilarious. Samosas, I’ve never tried them and they sound delicious. I believe I have seen the mint yogurt sauce on Lynn’s sauce now, so good tip for the future; I’ll make both. Lastly, the nacho sauce, that’s great.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol. Thank you! Yes, if you like curry at all, I recommend samosas!! Fried are delicious, but I loved the ease and healthy aspect of these baked ones. I’ll have to find the yogurt mint sauce on Lynn’s site. 🙂 and the Cheetos… I have no defense. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

