Food · Lunch

The Goal is Scrumptious: Avocado Bacon Grilled Sandwich 

Nearly every time I go to the store, I end up buying some fruits and vegetables I rarely eat.  I convince myself I will come up with some fabulous way to prepare them, and thus incorporate more nutrition into our daily intake.

Just an avocado bacon grilled sandwich @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Does this ever happen to you?  You think, “Oh!  A cucumber!  Well, I know I don’t really like cucumbers, but maybe the kids will?  Or maybe I’ll just slice it onto salads… I can tolerate that.”  So you buy the cucumber.

Three weeks later, you end up tossing it for questionable flimsiness… having never attempted to do anything with it.

Grilling an Avocado Bacon Sandwich @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

I really do want to consume healthful food.  I feel better when I eat a lot of vegetables and fruits (and fewer processed carbs).  So… I’m trying to branch out by preparing, serving, and eating more fruits and vegetables.  I want a little distance from our traditional can of green beans.

Some of the produce I have tried I buy for certain recipes, but rarely just eat.  For me, avocados are one of these items.  I usually buy avocados as a taco ingredient.

Until now, if they weren’t for tacos, I didn’t really know what to do with them.

Close up avocado bacon grilled sandwich @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

On a grocery run not long ago, I bought an avocado thinking that I should try to incorporate into a sandwich.  It sat on our counter until I began to wonder if it was really even any good anymore.  But I had some sandwich fixings, so I cut the avocado open and went for scrumptious.

I dug through our kitchen hoping for a tomato to add to this, but none could be found.  However, I did have some leftover tomato soup.  The sandwich was delicious by itself, but it was heavenly dipped into tomato soup.

I realize that avocados are high in calories and fat, but it’s mostly healthy fat, and they have extensive nutrition benefits.  I’m learning to not care as much how many calories I eat as long as I take in the right calories (well, most of the time).  😉

I see so many different types of recipes that use avocados.  After making this scrumptious sandwich, I’m looking forward to experimenting more with this tasty ingredient.  🙂

Avocado Bacon Grilled Sandwich with Tomato Soup @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Avocado Bacon Grilled Sandwich (makes one scrumptious sandwich)

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of your favorite bread (I used whole wheat)
  • two bread-sized slices of your favorite cheese (I used cheddar)
  • 3 slices cooked bacon
  • 3-5 slices honey ham
  • 1/2 avocado, scooped from the skin and cut into slices (*see note)
  • lime juice for drizzling (or half of a lime)
  • pepper
  • butter or bacon grease, to spread on the bread

Directions:

  1. Heat a skillet over medium heat and arrange the ham on it the way you’d like it on your sandwich.  Fry the ham a little (1-2 minutes) on both sides.
  2. While the ham cooks, butter or grease both bread slices (one side only).
  3. Build your sandwich on the skillet: one bread slice (buttered side down), one slice of cheese, bacon, cooked ham, avocado slices, a light drizzle of lime juice, a sprinkle of pepper, another slice of cheese, the other bread slice (buttered side up).
  4. Grill for 2-3 minutes on each side or until golden brown.  (Be careful when flipping — the bacon and avocado may fall out.  I used two spatulas to hold the sandwich together while flipping.)
  5. Serve hot, and preferably with tomato soup.  🙂

Notes:
*Leave the avocado pit in the other half of your avocado, put it in a plastic bag in your fridge, and make another sandwich tomorrow!

Avocado Bacon Grilled Sandwich @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

May your day be scrumptious!

~Katie

9 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Avocado Bacon Grilled Sandwich 

Leave a Comment

