Faith · Wonderfully Quirky Thoughts

Did You See the Sky?

I’ve been paying a lot of attention lately to the sky.  Whether it’s a clear sky painted with a wash of pinks and blues and purples, whether it is punctuated with clouds that capture the light in stunning ways, or whether the sunlight doesn’t reach the ground for all the cloud cover hinting at the rain to come, I’m always in awe.

Storms Rolling In @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

The power and beauty of God’s nature captivates me, and I think to myself, how is it that I am allowed to see this?

It’s almost a wonder to me that we can go on with our days instead of pausing indefinitely, completely entranced by the ever-changing light streaking across the heavens.

Glory streams through clouds @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Sometimes, I sneak outside in my pajamas to photograph the sunrise.  I get a small glimpse of it from our sliding door in the dining room, but there is something about being outside, taking it all in.  I get out from the cover of our building to marvel at the wonder in the sky.

Just Before the Pink @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Sometimes, it becomes even more glorious just minutes later, and I am compelled to go back out and gaze again.

Cotton Candy Sunrise @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Once in awhile, I get distracted by the morning routine and I forget to open our blinds.  This morning was one of those days.  Then I opened the door to walk the kids to school and was greeted with this scene.

Did You See the Sky? @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

I know anybody else can see it, but I always feel romanced, like it was just for me.  When I see the thunderclouds rolling in and smell the rain, I want to stretch out my arms and twirl in giddy, wild abandon at the glory and power of God.  When I see the sun rise or set, it feels as if He is sending me into my day with a hand-painted love note or bidding me a sweet goodnight.

Contrasting clouds by the light of the setting sun @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpresss.com

My heart can barely contain the wonder and awe.

“When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him?”

Psalm 8:3-4 (ESV)

~Katie

4 thoughts on “Did You See the Sky?

Leave a Comment

