Desserts · Food

Cookies ‘N Cream Cupcakes

I love desserts.  I love eating them, of course.  But I have a passion for creating them, too.  The act of mixing flavors and combining textures sends dessert-inspired shivers up and down my spine.

I love fresh lemon curd bursting with bright citrus flavor.  I love tart apple crisp topped with a hearty oat and cinnamon streusel and drizzled with caramel sauce.  I love cream cheese with all its possibilities.  (It’s famous for cheesecake, but it’s also delicious whipped into a trifle layer with pudding or swirled into brownies.)

But my favorite flavor is chocolate.

Baked cupcakes @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

I can’t bother denying it.  If you have followed this blog for any length of time, you have likely seen the many chocolate recipes.  (Find a complete listing of my recipes HERE.)

Chocolate is so versatile.  There are endless possibilities.

Dark chocolate?  Or white?  Or perhaps chocolate and caramel?  Or should I add in some coffee?  Maybe I’m really feeling chocolate and cinnamon?  Or perhaps I’ll go classic and just bake some chocolate chip cookies?

When I want to make a dessert, chocolate never fails me.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

For my son’s birthday (Mr. Smiles, age 2), my husband requested cupcakes.  Given my natural inclination toward chocolate (an inclination shared by Mr. Smiles), I decided to make chocolate cupcakes.  I had some white baking chocolate on hand, which inspired these cookies ‘n cream cupcakes.

cupcake ingredients @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com
Little Miss sneaking some Oreo crumbles.
For the cake portion, I used the “Chocolate Cake” recipe from my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.  Any time I need a chocolate cake from scratch, this is the recipe I use.  Usually I make at least one substitution, and this time it was buttermilk instead of milk.  I have never purchased real buttermilk in my life, but I like to bake with its substitute (milk mixed with a little lemon juice).  I know it’s a substitute for a substitute, but it works.  🙂

If you do not own a Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, check out their chocolate cake recipe HERE.  Over my years of baking, I have never found another chocolate cake recipe that turns out this moist.  It’s even better if you make it a day ahead.  The wait time brings out the rich chocolate flavor.

folding in cookies and chocolate @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com
Folding in Oreos and white chocolate.
(If you prefer a faster method, try using a chocolate cake box mix.  It may not be quite as moist, but you will still get tasty cookies ‘n cream cupcakes!)

Cookies ‘N Cream Cupcakes (makes about 36 cupcakes)

Ingredients:

  • 1 chocolate cake recipe or box mix (for a 9×13 pan or 2 round layers), prepared batter in the mixing bowl
  • 1/2 package Oreos (about 18)
  • 4 oz white baking chocolate (or white chocolate chips)

Directions:

  1. Chop the baking chocolate into small pieces (about chocolate chip size).  If you use chocolate chips, skip this step.
  2. Chop the Oreos into large chunks (6-8 chunks per Oreo).  You could also crush them in a bag or chop roughly in a food processor — I just wanted bigger chunks.
  3. Fold the white chocolate and chopped Oreos into the cake batter.
  4. Scoop into a greased and/or lined muffin tin using an ice cream scoop–read more about the wonders of an ice cream scoop in my post on chocolate banana oatmeal muffins HERE.
  5. Bake at 375 degrees for 13-15 minutes, or until toothpick (or butter knife) comes out clean.  🙂
  6. Once cooled completely, frost with your favorite vanilla frosting.  I used a vanilla buttercream (half butter/half shortening).

oreo cupcake garnish @ quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com

Check back for the final cupcake display for the birthday boy.  Post coming soon.  🙂

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

~Katie

11 thoughts on “Cookies ‘N Cream Cupcakes

Leave a Comment

