Beverages · Food

The Goal is Scrumptious: Caramel Hot Cocoa

The weather here has been beautiful these last couple weeks.  I’ve been relishing in the cool breeze as I walk the children to school.   The dew sparkles in the early sunlight, turning the freshly cut grass to seas of glitter.  I hear the marching band practicing in the distance.

Although summer is not quite behind us, the anticipation of fall stirs my senses.  I can hear the crisp crunch of leaves underfoot.  I can feel cozy sweaters and scarves and the brisk air on my cheeks.  I smell apples and cinnamon bubbling out of a freshly baked pie.  I taste sweet potatoes baked and slathered in butter and brown sugar.  I see shades of orange peek out across the expanse of tangled green vines, pumpkins in endless shapes and sizes.

Fall, you are most welcome.

On a day like this, caught up in the changing weather, I found myself yearning for a cup of hot cocoa.

IMG_2006

Alas, no cocoa mix.  I thought about making this recipe at A Fresh Brewed Faith, but I didn’t have powdered creamer (though I did have liquid creamer, as you will see).  So I improvised.  And it was good.  Really good.

I got out some milk, cocoa powder, powdered sugar, and coffee creamer.

I microwaved my milk for one minute, then added some cocoa powder and powdered sugar.

A thorough stir, then back to the microwave, to make sure everything was dissolved and, of course, that it was actually hot.  No lukewarm cocoa for me.  🙂  Added in a generous splash of caramel coffee creamer.

Ah, perfect.

Impromptu Caramel Hot Cocoa makes one cup

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk (more if your mug is large, though it will dilute the cocoa slightly)
  • 1 TBSP cocoa powder
  • 1 TBSP powdered sugar
  • 1 TBSP or more caramel flavored creamer, to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat milk in a cozy mug of your choice for one minute.
  2. Add in cocoa powder and powdered sugar.  Stir well, but gently, to avoid spillage.
  3. Microwave again for 20-30 seconds.  Stir well to dissolve any remaining powder.
  4. Add creamer to taste.

Notes: I tasted this before I added the creamer, and if you like darker chocolate with just a hint of sweet, this might be perfect for you.  I like it sweeter, so the creamer was necessary, and full of caramel goodness.  Heavenly.

IMG_2003

Happy Wednesday!

~Katie

8 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Caramel Hot Cocoa

    1. Isn’t it beautiful? This kind of weather is so refreshing to me! If you get a hankering for cocoa, this was a fast and easy way to make a cup! I’ll have to make up a mix though– it won’t be long before my kids all want some, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

