Wonderfully Quirky Thoughts

The Liebster Award: Go Meet Some Friends!

Once upon a time, there was a young girl who dreamed of writing.  Years went by, and the young girl grew up.  She went to college.  She got married and had beautiful babies.  Her babies grew into mischievous, delightful children, and she longed for a way to pursue her writing and organize her creativity.

She decided to start a blog.  Oh the possibilities!  Oh the joy!  Oh the long road of learning how to photograph food!

And she met new friends.  Free spirited friends.  Funny friends.  Creative friends.  Hard working friends.  Passionate friends.

This is a post about her and her new friends.

This weekend, and again this morning, I was nominated for the Liebster award.  This is a blogging award given to newer bloggers by other bloggers to promote and welcome up-and-coming blogs.  I have read several Liebster award posts, and enjoy the different questions and answers, as well as browsing the blogs nominated.  It’s a great way to find new blogs, and to get to know the bloggers.

Liebster Award

There are slight variations on the rules from blogger to blogger, but here’s basically how it works.  (Note that accepting the award is optional.)  If you are nominated, you can accept by writing a post that includes the following:

• Link back to the person who nominated you
• Include the instructions in your post
• Answer the 11 questions given to you by the nominator
• Display the Liebster award logo in your post
• Nominate up to 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers
• Create 11 questions for the nominees
• Notify all nominees via social media/blogs

Thank you to folkbird and Sadie’s Nest for nominating me!

Folkbird, I admire your passion for music and for Jesus.  I’m so glad you included a link to your post on your “This Night” composition.  Beautiful lyrics.  Truly.  I hope you post more of your music.

Sadie’s Nest, it is such a delight to read each of your posts.  Your heart for God and for others shines through everything you post.  Not to mention, your food posts always look yummy!  I can’t wait to try some more of your recipes.  🙂

If you’d like to get to know me better, check out the Q&A sessions below with the lovely bloggers who nominated me.  If you want to find new blogs that are worth checking out, scroll to the bottom to find my nominees.  Of course, if you’ve got the time, do both. 🙂

A LITTLE Q & A…

Here’s my Q&A with folkbird (her questions, my answers):

Q: What’s your favorite thing to make/bake/create?

A: Any baked good, but probably cake, especially with enticing flavor combinations (coffee/dark chocolate or lemon/cream cheese or white chocolate/tiramisu… endless possibilities).  And, though it should always taste good, my favorite part of cake is making beautiful buttercream decorations (I’ll be posting about a decorated cake of mine soon…)

I also really enjoy painting – oil paints on canvas.  A quiet fall afternoon with good music and oil paints soothes my soul and my creative spirit.

Q: What song has been your comfort for a decade?

A: Love Song for a Savior by Jars of Clay.

Q: Would you rather explore outer space or the ocean?

A: Definitely the ocean.  I LOVE outer space photographs, but I prefer to be here on earth.  Plus the ocean has so many interesting creatures and plants and colors.  It’s less lonely.

Q: How do you like to spend your birthdays?

A: With family and slightly pampered.  🙂  Growing up, we always got to pick our favorite dinner for our birthday.  I love this tradition and am starting to carry it out with my kids.

Q: What’s the biggest curve ball life has thrown at you so far?

A: Being a stay-at-home mom.  While I love it and am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to spend that time with my children, it wasn’t my dream to stay at home.  Before my first kiddo (and for awhile at the beginning) I was a music teacher, and I loved it.  When we were first married, I told my husband I didn’t think I could ever stay at home.  There is a great deal of loneliness involved, and I didn’t think I had the self-motivation or initiative to do much more than make dinner and wash laundry (even those were a struggle at first).  However, after two part-time years and another year completely at home, things are feeling a little more settled, both in the house and in my heart.   Because of this, I get to enjoy my kids more.  I’m so thankful to God for the good friends, role models, and verses He’s put in my life to bring me to this point of contentment.

Q: How do you get your story fix? Music or movies or books; fiction or non fiction?

A: All of the above, though I tend to find a good fiction book series or movie genre that I obsess over for several weeks before switching over to something else.  My last kick was epic adventure movies.  The scenery, plot, and soundtrack of the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings movies stir my heart every time.

Q: When do you feel most fully yourself?

A: Sipping coffee, reading the Bible, and talking to Jesus.

Q: What’s your current lifestyle footwear? jimmy choo, reef, ariat, nike

A. Apparently New Balance (just checked).

Q: What was your favorite thing that happened this summer?

A: I had a girls weekend with my mom, my daughter, and my college roommate.  This is the first time I’ve ever been away from my baby that long, and only the second time for my middle man.  We watched a cheesy movie with great a cappella performances, we baked (and devoured) gooey butter cake, and we crafted (my mom used quilt scraps to help my daughter make a little quilt for her baby doll, and she walked me through sewing a roll-up pouch for my double-pointed knitting needles).

Q: Where do you like to buy groceries?

A: Aldi.  We moved last summer to a new town without an Aldi, and I miss it.  A lot.  I loved walking out of Aldi with a cart full of groceries and a full wallet.

Here’s my Q&A with Sadie’s Nest (her questions, my answers):

Q: How did you get started on your blog?

A: I’ve thought about blogging for years, and decided that now, with some of my kiddos in school, I should have time for this creative endeavor.

Q: What is the hardest thing you’ve found about blogging?

A: So far, it’s when technology doesn’t cooperate.  At the beginning, I wrote a post fairly quickly and spent double the time trying to get the pictures I wanted from my phone to my post.

Q: What is your favorite blog post?

A: Of those I’ve written, An Opportunity… It’s a post about rejoicing in the opportunity for my endurance to grow while parenting kids who do crazy things. Posting about scripture and how it’s impacting me really get at my heart.

But of those I’ve read, I’m extremely fond of this post at Storyshucker.  In need of a smile that lasts a week?  Read it.  🙂

Q: If you had one day left to live, what would you do?

A: Sadie, I love your answer to this question, and can’t seem to think of anything else.  I would thank God for this beautiful life and ask Him what He wanted me to do that day.  God willing, I’d also write letters to my loved ones for the moments I wouldn’t be there.

Q: Sweet or savory?

A: First one, then the other.  🙂

Q: What is your favorite passion or hobby?

A: It’s impossible for me to pick just one!  I love to bake, decorate cakes, paint, and write (among many others).

Q: What is a motto or quote you live by?

A: This is ever changing as I study God’s Word and am convicted in different ways.  Right now it’s Ephesians 6:18, “Pray at all times and on every occasion in the power of the Holy Spirit.  Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all Christians everywhere.”

Q: Name one person that has inspired you.

A: Ava Lea, from the church I grew up in.  She is a grey-haired prayer warrior with a heart for young people and the most beautiful soul.

Q: What is a guilty pleasure of yours?

A: Reading.  When I get into a good book, it’s far too easy for me to ignore other responsibilities while I follow fictional characters through battles and romance, over mountains and across deserts, fighting for freedoms and friendships.

Q: If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?

A: Yogurt topped with fruit and granola… it’s semi-healthy, fairly filling, and satisfies various taste and texture cravings.

Q: Your spouse’s boss has heard you cook and invited himself to dinner… What are you making?

A: Barbecued meatballs with sweet potato casserole.  Also with salad and homemade French bread if I’ve got the time and energy.  And chocolate chip cookies since I can make them in the morning, from memory, and I nearly always have those ingredients on hand.

Here are my questions for my nominees:

  1. How did your blogging journey begin?  (And why have you continued?)
  2. What is your favorite kind of weather?
  3. What is your favorite flavor combination in a dessert?
  4. What is one thing you hope to accomplish or do in your lifetime?
  5. What is your favorite genre of music?
  6. What is your creative outlet?
  7. What is your favorite smell or combination of smells?
  8. What is one of your favorite words and why?
  9. What is one of your favorite quotes and why?
  10. You have a whole day to yourself… how do you spend it?
  11. What is your favorite memory from this summer?

NOMINEES:
I hope you will check out each of their blogs.  Faith, food, and family await you in abundance!

I hope your week is off to a great start!

~Katie

9 thoughts on “The Liebster Award: Go Meet Some Friends!

  1. that girls weekend sounds so fun! my mom helped me make a quilt during the last summer we spent togethet before she passed away. hand stitching with wooden hoops was my favorite part. 🙂

    ps, thank you for the compliment RE This Night!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

