Breakfast · Food

The Goal is Scrumptious: Pumpkin Pancakes

I started this blog mostly to ease that voice in my heart that whispers (and sometimes shouts) “Be creative.  Make something new today.  Create!”  

I didn’t expect to enjoy reading other blogs as much as I have.  There are so many styles, so many areas of focus, so many beautiful pictures!

One of the things I love seeing on a blog is a regular post.  It’s a little like knowing there is a slice of cheesecake in your fridge.  Something you anticipate.  You smile and think to yourself, I have that to look forward to!

Here are some of the regular posts I’ve enjoyed reading lately:

The Weekly Brew at A Fresh Brewed Faith
Make It Monday at Chronicles of a Keeper
Wordless Wednesday at knit equals joy

Being thus inspired, I have decided to publish a regular post entitled The Goal is Scrumptious.  This post will (hopefully) appear each Wednesday and detail my adventures in the kitchen making something new.

Without further ado, here is my first regular post.

A little while back, I posted about this deliciously spicy Pumpkin Smoothie.  The next few days, I looked for tasty ways to use up the remaining pumpkin puree.  I snuck some in sloppy joes (which was much tastier than it sounds).  Then I made these pumpkin pancakes.

We keep some just-add-water pancake mix on hand, but I like to alter it for variety, flavor, and, of course, fun!

I started with pancake mix, pumpkin, cinnamon, and ginger.

IMG_1657

I stirred in some water and lemon juice.

After tasting, I drizzled in some molasses.

IMG_1660

IMG_1661

I heated some coconut oil in a large skillet.  Lately, I’ve been favoring coconut oil over butter for pancakes and French toast.  It adds a new dimension of flavor.  And it makes me feel like a fancy cook.  🙂

IMG_1665

The mix was a little thicker than regular pancakes, so I spread them out a bit with the measuring cup I was using to pour in the batter.  I could have added in extra water, but they turned out great.  I think I’ll spread ’em again next time.  🙂

IMG_1668

My family likes to eat pancakes with syrup, but I thought these were excellent with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar.

IMG_1674

Pumpkin Pancakes (makes about 12 medium-sized pancakes)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c. just-add-water pancake mix
  • heaping 1/2 c. pumpkin (this was to use up what we had left, but I would have added a little more if I’d had it)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1-2 TBSP molasses to taste
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 c. water
  • 1-2 TBSP oil for frying (coconut, vegetable, or butter)

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat.
  2. Mix all other ingredients in a medium bowl to make the pancake batter.
  3. When water dripped on the pan sizzles, add pancake batter in 1/4-1/3 c. portions.
  4. When pancakes appear dry on the edges and have bubbles throughout, flip to cook the other side.
  5. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve warm.

Enjoy the rest of your week!

6 thoughts on “The Goal is Scrumptious: Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. I LOVE, love, love this idea! I also look forward to regular posts — one reason why I probably enjoy doing that myself!

    This recipe looks totally delish…may I ask where you purchase your coconut oil? I’m very interested in trying it with cooking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ve bought coconut oil at Costco before because I found it for a great price, but this jar was a gift from my grandma’s pantry when she moved out of her house. She always shopped at Walmart, so that’s my guess. It is definitely pricey compared to vegetable or canola oil, but excellent and versatile, so I find it worth the splurge now and then. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

